Manage Universal Purge Settings

You must have the Optimise Universal Purge Settings permission for this procedure. For more details refer to Permissions.

Dynamic Scheduling includes the following data purge routines that apply across all Worlds:

  • Event Queue Purge - When changes are made to items such as jobs, resources or availability, these changes create notification messages which are added to a message queue for processing. This event queue needs regular purges to prevent it consuming excessive disk space.

  • Resource Alternative Start Locations Purge - Alternative start locations are usually defined for a particular period of time, for example if a resource is temporarily relocated. You can choose to remove alternative start location data from Dynamic Scheduling once it has expired.

  • Resource Location Purge - You can choose to purge resource location data that is no longer valid.

You can also configure some purge routines at World level. For more details refer to Optimise Purge Settings.

To define universal purge settings:

  1. In WebAdmin select Optimise Admin.

    The Universal Settings and Worlds page appears.

  2. In the Universal Settings section, select Universal Purge Settings.

    The Universal Purge Settings dialog appears.

    To view or hide the explanatory notes on this dialog, select Toggle Notes .

  3. Select Edit Settings .

    When this dialog is in Edit mode and these settings have previously been edited, a Version dropdown is displayed at the top of the dialog. Select an option from the dropdown to view the settings from a previous version.

  4. To set up an Event Queue purge routine:

    1. Toggle Delete Event Queue Entries to Yes.

    2. Select the Purge Period field and enter the number of days after an entry is created that it should be removed. The default is 3 days.

    3. Select the Purge Frequency field and enter how often, in hours, to run the purge routine. By default the routine runs once an hour.

    4. Toggle Purge New to Yes or No to define whether or not to purge unprocessed event queue entries if they meet the Purge Period criteria.

    5. Toggle Purge Errored to Yes or No to define whether or not to purge queue entries that triggered an error during processing if they meet the Purge Period criteria. You may want to keep these queue entries for analysis.

  5. To set up a Resource Alternative Start Locations purge routine:

    1. Toggle Delete Resource Alternative Start Location Entries to Yes.

    2. Select the Purge Period field and enter the number of days after an alternative start location's end date that it should be removed. The default is 3 days.

    3. Select the Purge Frequency field and enter how often, in hours, to run the purge routine. By default the routine runs once an hour.

  6. To set up a Resource Location purge routine:

    1. Toggle Delete Resource Location Entries to Yes.

    2. Select the Purge Period field and enter the number of days after a location is no longer valid that it should be removed. The default is 3 days.

    3. Select the Purge Frequency field and enter how often, in hours, to run the purge routine. By default the routine runs once an hour.

    To reset all options to their defaults, select Reset Settings .

  7. Select Save.

  8. Enter a reason for the edits, then select Confirm.